My Self-Portrait Mind Map

Yuan Zhuang
2 min readFeb 2, 2021

--

In this project, I need to think about my future includes career, skills, interests and etc. I also read a lot of design works as a reference for my own design. I think this project is interesting for me.

<Gathering the Data>
In this process, I draw a mind map at first. I took a white paper and create some categories, such as life, job, hope, fear. I hope that I can have a healthy life to face every challenges and difficulties.

<Assembling my Artwork>
First, I printed out a selfie of myself. I changed the tone to gray, so that my mind map would be more clearly colored. The design is not too cluttered.

I cut some dry flowers as my many ideas and thoughts. I also use the rope to be the lines which can connect with mind map.

I used different colors to distinguish different categories. Orange refers to life, blue refers to job, red refers to hope, green refers to skill and black refers to fear. The color can express my feelings about these things.

<First Vision>

When I presented this work in class, everyone replied that the part of the text was not clear and difficult to read. I also found this problem when I finished it, so I will fix it.

<Final Self-Portrait Mind Map>

--

--

Yuan Zhuang

CMCI Student, CU Boulder | Designer in the future | Full of passion and patience | Paint and 3D printing.